Advisory Board


The WISE CDT Advisory Board meets once a year, and is chaired by Professor John Banyard, OBE FREng. Its purpose is to advise on the strategic development, direction and future sustainability of the Centre, as well as the training offered by the CDT.

The Advisory Board has the wider aim of engaging the CDT with industrial and academic communities, both nationally and internationally. This helps with the Centre’s success. The WISE CDT Programme Management Group (PMG) is accountable to the Advisory Board and formally considers its advice.



The Advisory Board’s responsibilities are to:

  • Provide advice and recommendations to the PMG regarding the strategic direction of the WISE CDT and the content of the taught element of the programme;
  • Review and advise on the external contributions to the WISE CDT;
  • Advise and support further growth of the partner network;
  • Collaborate in the support of PhD student projects;
  • Provide advice, where appropriate, with regard to the evaluation and selection of research proposals (i.e. PhD projects) in terms of the commercial, political and academic potential of the proposals;
  • Explore wider opportunities for research collaborations at postgraduate level and above, including joint bids and co-funded projects;
  • Receive a report on the progress of the WISE CDT from its Director;
  • Participate in and collaborate on the planning of the annual summer school and seminar series.


Members of the Advisory Board:

  • Chair: Professor John Banyard, OBE FREng (Independent Consultant)
  • Dr Helena Alegre (Director of Hydraulics and Environment Department, LNEC (Laboratório Nacional de Engenharia Civil)), Portugal
  • Professor Ruth Allen (CEO, infrastructure engineering specialist, entrepreneur and mentor; RAEng Honorary Visiting Professor at University of Exeter)
  • Andrew Burrows (Partner, PA Consulting)
  • Dr Maria Calderon Munoz (Portfolio Manager, Engineering, EPSRC)
  • David Evans (Director, Natural Energy Wyre)
  • Dr Mark Fletcher (Global Water Business  Leader, Arup)
  • David Fortune (Independent Consultant)
  • Ben Gouldby (Chief Technical Director, Flood Risk, HR Wallingford)
  • Dr Dan Green (Head of Sustainability and Innovation, Wessex Water)
  • Dr Tony Harrington (Director of Environment, Dŵr Cymru – Welsh Water)
  • Professor Rob Lamb (Managing Director, JBA Trust)
  • Dr Sean Longfield (Lead Scientist for Flood Risk Research, Environment Agency)
  • Dr Ana Mijic (Reader in Water Systems Integration and Director of the Centre for Systems Engineering and Innovation, Imperial College London)
  • Michael Nicholson (Senior Managing Consultant, Advanced Analytics, IBM Global Business Services)
  • Professor Patrick Reed (Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Cornell University)
  • Professor Elena Toth (Associate Professor, Department of Civil, Chemical, Environmental, and Materials Engineering, University of Bologna)
  • Dr Jon Wicks (Senior Expert, Flood Modelling, Jacobs)